Peter Vardy Reviews

4.58 Rating 7,471 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Peter Vardy
Read Peter Vardy Reviews
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 27th June 2018
Ryan Jamieson
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 19th April 2018
Jordan Duncan
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 16th April 2018
Jay Campbell
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 16th March 2018
Donna Drylie
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 11th March 2018
Jacqueline Raitt
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 14th February 2018
Evelyn Ford
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 16th January 2018
Peter Maloney
56
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Very poor service throughout purchasing my car. Car was dirty at handover clearly not cleaned. Still have a fault with the car after contacting them over 6 weeks ago no reply from anyone. Wouldn't recommend purchasing a car.
Posted 3 months ago
Very friendly and helpful
(Vauxhall Kirkcaldy) - Posted 4 months ago
My complaint with Peter Vardy came after purchasing a secondhand Mini from their Dundee branch and resulted in weeks and weeks of phone calls, emails and Whatsapp messages achieving nothing until the day the emailed complaint was sent, at which point I finally started to see some progress.
I saw the vehicle on the website around 8 April 2020 which I was aware was during the lockdown period and would not be available however was keen to show an interest in the vehicle and contacted Vardy. Almost immediately I was contacted back to discuss terms by a salesman and within a few emails was provided a potential deal on PCP terms. I was aware at this time that the vehicle would not be available for some time due to the lockdown and was advised to reserve it. I did this paying the £99 reservation fee.
I was contacted by customer services on 23 April stating that if I wished to, I could now go ahead with the purchase and I would have the vehicle on my driveway by 30 April. During this conversation despite not having seen the car up close I was assured that the car would be valeted, serviced and in first class condition and that if I had any issues with it, Vardy's after sales was second to none and would deal with any problems. I went ahead with the deal I had been provided and on Thursday 30 April the vehicle was delivered to my door. I noted at this time that the vehicle did not appear to have been valeted and was dirty inside and out. At this time my part exchange vehicle was taken away. This was part of the deal, the vehicle was being traded in and the outstanding finance cleared with the PCP finance company. This appears to be where the problems start. I will list my issues and deal with them in order.
1. At time of writing the complaint (26/05/2020), 26 days after trading the vehicle in, the finance on my trade in vehicle had not been settled. I had a payment taken from my bank during this period for the vehicle despite no longer owning it. I contacted Peter Vardy every few days regarding this and was assured that all was in order and that it was being dealt with and any over payment would be returned. I repeatedly checked with the finance company who continued to state that no monies had been paid to them. I repeatedly called Vardy's using the main number, the Dundee numbers and had spoken numerous people regarding this, all of which pled no knowledge and assured me I will receive a phone call from finance/sales manager to discuss and reassure me. I did not receive any phone call in the nearly four weeks I was trying to resolve this. When I say I did not receive any call backs, to be specific, despite at least 8-10 calls to Vardy's each one ending with a promise to have a manager call me back. I did not receive any calls back, none, not one. This was finally settled on 26 May by which point I was contacting them on a daily basis, however Vardy's managed to settle a different figure which meant I only received a portion of my over payment from the finance company. I have since given up trying to recover the rest of the payment from Vardy.
2. During this period I received no paperwork for this purchase, no invoice, no receipt for the significant deposit, no details of the service carried out, absolutely nothing. I had been contacting the customer service adviser for a number of weeks and had been promised everything would be resolved and I would receive a phone call from the Sales manager. See above for how successful that was. If I had to provide any proof that I owned the vehicle during this period I could not do it nor prove the deposit value as I had received no paperwork, nothing. The adviser stated that if my deposit had not cleared Vardy's would not have released the Mini, however that really isn't good enough is it.
3. I paid £99 reservation fee for this vehicle, this fee was not included in the deal as the deal was agreed prior to the vehicle being reserved. Despite asking for this to be returned numerous times this problem persisted and despite numerous occasions in which I had been told it had been attended to, it took until 15 June to finally get this resolved and involved the Vardy accountant!!
These points raised above and more have been communicated a number of people within Vardy's over the last month and a half. I have been calling on average ever 3-4 days building up to almost every day due to the frustration and lack of progress. It appears that as soon as my deposit hit Vardy any assistance or after sales ceased. Since complaining I have managed to get these issues resolved slowly.
I have not received any apologies or explanations for these problems. I would not advise blaming the current circumstances as the cause as the initial sale of the car and delivery was done with lightening speed. Only grinding to a halt when my deposit and trade in was secured. I will not use this company again.
Note: I posted this review on Trust Pilot some weeks ago and Peter Vardy posted a response stating how it was not the service customers should expect to receive and the matter would be escalated to senior management to contact me and seek a resolution. That was over 4 weeks from the date of posting today. Predictable response of absolutely no contact from anyone at Peter Vardy, nothing whatsoever, beware.
Posted 4 months ago
Nothing was clearly explained over the phone when being offered a different car to which we originally went for. Ended up having to pay out more deposit than originally stated. Full specifics of the new car being offered was not explained in full detail there for I did not get what I was expecting to get.
Posted 9 months ago
Ridiculous fee for a car that has not even been fixed.
Posted 1 year ago
After sales service is diabolical. It's April, I've only had this car since November and another fault has developed, the second since ownership - this time a problem with the clutch. When asking Peter Vardy Motherwell to get it booked in under warranty, I was advised their service department was booked out until the end of May, and was 'advised' that I phone round local garages to get it sorted. Shouldn't that be your job Peter Vardy? Here we go again, another couple of weeks without a car and fitting the bill to try to get to my place of work somehow. This company has shown time and time again now that it is totally incompetent in providing any where near decent after sales customer service. Absolutely disgusted at how you are treated if a fault develops with one of their used vehicles. Flat out refused to try to provide a courtesy vehicle as these were "booked out 2 - 3 weeks in advance and only available to customers"!!! Clearly I'm not considered a customer any longer? Think twice before taking a risk on a used car from these jokers.
(Vauxhall Dalgety Bay) - Posted 1 year ago
It turned out on closer inspection of my final bill that I had been charged £49.99 for mats that I had neither asked for or been told about. I also had said no thank you, to the £15 child sponsor offer but had been charged for it. I was told by the store manager that because of the deal that we had struck with my trade in, they had to recoup that cash somehow !!! I couldn't believe what I was hearing, I was so angry at this point , out of principle that I settled my bill and left. It was only when the customer services manager called me to go through my purchase that everything was sorted out & I was reimbursed the £65. Thank you Claire.
Posted 2 years ago
I was supposed to collect the vehicle on the 30th of August, I was phoned and told on the 30th of August at around 4.40pm that the vehicle wouldn't be ready for collection as they had found some problems with it. I had to chase the sales person every day for an update as I was kept in the dark about what was happening. When I finally went to collect the vehicle on the 8th of September, they had failed the QC very badly! the car had a broken wing mirror and 2 flat tyres that had been missed upon inspection! Still currently waiting for these issues to be fixed over a month of having the car! Also still waiting to be booked into Nissan to get the spare key programmed! Very disappointing.
Posted 2 years ago
craig dick was really helpfull he sold me my 1st car . any question i had for him he gave me a really good answer back. thanks very much . now enjoying my new car
Posted 2 years ago
Fab job, would buy a car again!
(Landrover Aberdeen) - Posted 2 years ago
As always the journey to order and receive my new car was seamless! Allan was very helpful and answered all my questions.
(Vauxhall Perth) - Posted 2 years ago
Airbles road motherwell.. very happy john was great with me. If it wasnt for john i wouldnt have the car i wanted been brilliant with me in finding the right car
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 2 years ago
I had been looking for a specific spec of Honda Civic for about 8 months.
I eventually found what I was looking for in the Peter Vardy in Motherwell online.
Honda seemed to be a lot dearer, and only had what I was looking for in their other garages which was hundreds of miles away, and I would have had to travel to get it.
The person I was dealing with Chris Wainwright was really good with me, and helped me out as much as he could.
The other person Jordan I think his name was, who done all the paperwork was excellent also.
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 2 years ago
Very happy all of my needs for my new car were met swiftly and efficiently.
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 2 years ago
As this was my first car, they made it all very clear what was going on as I literally had no clue. Although I had my dad with me to explain everything, Scott went over everything with me so I understood and showed me all the cars in my price range ect.
(Vauxhall Kirkcaldy) - Posted 2 years ago
Was nice to walk into a showroom and not get pushed into anything extra than we needed. In the end got a deal that was perfect for us without any hassle. Aaron kept us informed through out all the order process until delivery. Allround a simple and pleasant experience. Would definitely recommend to others.
Posted 2 years ago
The salesman and the man who done the handover were great but was passed about and let down for calls back when I phoned up.
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 2 years ago
This will be my 3rd car from you,and I honestly wouldn't go anywhere else,your customer service is second to none,already recommended you to friends.Keep up the good work.
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 2 years ago
The service I got from the Peter Vardy team was excellent from picking a car to arranging finance to collection was so smooth would definitely recommend especially the salesman called Declan first class service
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 2 years ago
Everyone very helpful and courteous
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 2 years ago
Peter Vardy is rated 4.58 based on 7,471 reviews