Peter Vardy Reviews

4.58 Rating 7,471 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Peter Vardy
Read Peter Vardy Reviews
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 27th June 2018
Ryan Jamieson
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 19th April 2018
Jordan Duncan
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 16th April 2018
Jay Campbell
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 16th March 2018
Donna Drylie
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 11th March 2018
Jacqueline Raitt
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 14th February 2018
Evelyn Ford
Peter Vardy 5 star review on 16th January 2018
Peter Maloney
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
On the 21st of January I bought a Ford Focus from your Aberdeen Vauxhall branch. I was not given a MOT certificate,I did not check the paper work until I had arrived at my home when I realised I did not have it. On the 23rd of January I rang your branch and spoke to the salesman I bought the car from and he told me he would attend to the matter and ring me back. On the 24th of January he called me back and said it was going out in the mail that night. I still do not have it on the 30th of January. YOUR COMMENTS PLEASE.JOHN MILNE
Posted 4 years ago
Appalling. Bought new vehicle Dec 2015, my neighbour knew before I did when I was taking delivery, and also how much I'd paid, due to a woman in the office who went to school with her recognising my address. Also badgered with phone calls nearing the first anniversary telling me my warranty would be void if I didn't book a service? Twice had AA to vehicle due to brakes seizing. And once back at dealer to have dodgy electrics sorted... (where the mechanic left manky hand prints on the ceiling..... ) absolutely crap. Avoid like the plague . Car now sold.
(Vauxhall Motherwell) - Posted 4 years ago
Hi Owen, We would like to apologise for the issues you previously experienced with our Vauxhall Motherwell branch. I have passed your details to the relevant Management team to ensure your comments are looked into. Thank you for your feedback. Team PV.
Posted 4 years ago
I am an honest person so I will give an honest review. I was told by Michael Renie in sales that if I brought the Mercedes Ml for the asking price of £25000 that I would receive a three month warranty as standard. A b service by Mercedes because it is due one and that is standard if a car is due a service within three months which is situated right next door too Peter Verdys Michael's words. Plus a full tank off fuel. Well I thought sounds good so went ahead and brought the car. But unfortunately I never got any of the above and this is now five weeks after I took delivery. When they kindly delivered the car and I had signed for it the drivers door would not open so had to climb over the passenger seat. I drove it one mile to have the car washed and noticed it would not speed up. What happened to their 113 point check??Phoned sales manager and he told me to take it too Mercedes which I done. They said the turbo needs repairing and the door needs a new lock costing £1000. After a whole week without the car and the stress trying to get this resolved and numerous phone calls being ignored Peter Vardys finally paid up. Got in the car yesterday and on the screen is showing b service due. So telephoned Mercedes to ask why service is due and they told me Peter Vardys never had the service done. I have been totally misled on numerous occasions. I am booking car in too Mercedes to have it serviced at my expense. Then I will issue Peter Vardys a high court writ to recover the cost outstanding. Mercedes and ford sales team are told if they mislead a customer or lie too them they will be instantly dismissed. Well maybe Peter Vardys need to take a leaf out of their book.
(Jaguar Aberdeen) - Posted 4 years ago
Hi Dean, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologise for the issues encountered at our Jaguar dealersip. Our Management team have tried to get in touch regarding the issues you have experienced but have been unable to reach you. If you could get back to us at your earliest convenience to hopefully resolve your complaint to your satisfaction.
Posted 4 years ago
Everything. Ordered aMokka 1.6CDTi 136EcFlx5d through Motability with £749 advance payment on 9/92016.with delivery on 29/10/16 On 14/10/16 Ireceived letter from Motability, everything approved with a/v payment of £899..Visited showroom was told car had NOT been ordered would be 14/16 week to order model from factory. After discussion we were told petrol model in stock,(same spec, engine POWER and drivetrain) and could be ready on 29/10. On 29/10/16 we went to collect car. Car not ready. Told car could be ready for next day at 4.00pm. Arrived at 4.00 had to wait 20 mins for salesman. We were ushered over to his desk here he told us he had another customer waiting.Everything very rushed. Signed paperwork,salesman asked Customer Relations Manager(Claie) to take over. She apologised for all the hassle we had had and handed us over to another salesman to complete handover outside and in the darkness. Handover lasted 10 mins. My wife and I were left very frustrated and angry. We left with NO paperwork, NO INSURANCE cover no Motability pack. The following day my wife took me out in the car, it was only then that I realised that the car had a 5 speed gearbox and on checking further the engine was a 115ps and not a 136ps as we were told that it would be. We had be very badly mislead. You may say I should have checked this fact out for myself, but as my hhealth problem is my eyesight this is not an option and I relied heavily on your sales staff.
I contacted your head office in Glasgow and spoke to your Customer Services manager, she took some details and said she would speak to the Aberdeen Sales Manager to deal with it and that he would telephone me. A few days later he did phone me. After a very short discussion he advised me that I could have "Pulled out at anytime during the deal" and asked hat I expected him to do as he had already waived the advance payment and given my a full tank of fuel,
. This had been agreed if we excepted a petrol model But not before we received a 5-speed gearbox and less powerful vechicle. We also had a £200 voucher as our freid had bought a Mokka A few days before us and we had told the first salesman we dealt with who said he honour this when we collected our car. We have since be told this offer does not include Motability cars. It does not say this on the voucher.
There were many other things that went wrong but I think you will be pullig your teeth out by now as I am.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Mr Imlach, Thank you for your review. I believe our Management team have been in touch and fully discussed the concerns above. Should you wish to discuss further please let us know at
Posted 4 years ago
Loved the car, sales staff friendly. Got car home, found a few issues and returned the car they checked it found it had no issue and returned it. Problem still there, garage wasnt interested then found wheel bolts not correctly fitted and one wheel bolt was missing after driving on the motorway at 70mph (i'm registered disabled and i had my step son in the car with me) brakes were grinding and had imbalance in them also, to say i was furious was a major understatement. Contacted the garage who told me to bring it back in. I refused on safety grounds and took it to ford, who advised the rear brakes were dangerous (only 10days after owning it i might add) the heatshield was not correctly fitted after service causing the engine rattle i reported, the tyres were below 3mm and had to be replaced, and the front brakes were only working at 60% efficiency, car had broken front coil spring ( bear in mind peter vardy serviced, did a full inspection and mot'd the car before i bought it apparently). Front brakes soon to be replaced almost 800 pound already spent but brakes will add best part of 200 to the total. Car is now 6 months since purchase and head office refer me to the dealer manager who has been off sick or on holiday for the last 6months and still hasnt called me either to apologise or to arrange the refund of the repairs. Am so disgusted to have been treated this way. If i didnt love the car so much would be asking for a full refund and not just the costs of repair. Service team are either dangerously understaffed or dangerously ignorant of human emotion. Have not shouted or been abusive to any of the staff (even tho they could have killed me or my stepson) bunch of criminals!!!!!!
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) - Posted 4 years ago
Hi Mr Howie, I believe our Service Manager Brian is dealing with your issues.He is awaiting an email from yourself with further information to allow us to proceed with dealing with your complaint. Thank you for your review.
Posted 4 years ago
Overall poor experience
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) - Posted 4 years ago
Unable to keep promises. Unacceptable wait time.
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) - Posted 4 years ago
The customer service was a disgrace from start to finish

An apology was made when I eventually picked up my car with a promise of a follow up phone call in a few days to make sure everything was ok. That was over 4 weeks ago and I'm still waiting for that call

I would not recommend Peter Vardy to anyone
Posted 4 years ago
The car I traded in was of a higher value than the new car I was purchasing.
It took around 2 months to get the money back that I was owed.
I'm sure if I was due Peter vardy money that was 2 months overdue I would have had a lawyers letter. I had various correspondence with the customer service department but seemed in vain. I also tried to call the salesman who sold me the car and emailed him but no reply. Before I had the money after 3 weeks the clutch started juddering in the car. The car was supposed to be valeted for pick up it wasn't. I ordered the Vauxhall mats which I was about to drive away and noticed they weren't in and had to go back. The car was also supposed to have a 117 point check so I'm told and after driving it for a couple of days could tell a ball joint had excessive play in it and was knocking while I was driving. All in I think the customer service was a joke and feel like I have been ripped off.
The last 4 cars I have bought before this have been from Arnold Clark and have always been treated well I would never use Peter vardy again and warm anyone else from doing so.
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) - Posted 4 years ago
From start to finish this was one of the worst experiences I have ever had when dealing with the automotive industry.

I dealt with head office to view a car that I viewed online and received a call to set up a viewing, however upon entering the dealership they had no knowledge of me coming and the car had not been prepared at all.

I went ahead with the purchase with a number of items that needed to be completed promised to be fixed by the dealer, however when I went to collect the car not one of the repairs required has been completed and the car looked as though a 5 year old had cleaned it.

The car was returned to the dealership early the following week for the repairs to be completed as was promised when I purchased the car to which they had the car for a week. When it was returned to me it was delivered back in a dangerous condition as the wheels were in full contact with the suspension resulting in the car having to be recovered on the back of a flat bed truck, they spare key that I was also promised had still not been delivered (apparently on back order) and the car still not cleaned properly.

When I went in to collect a courtesy car from the dealership I was then told that the key had never been ordered in the 1st place and I had been lied to on both occasions that I had collected the car. They also blamed the car being delivered in a dangerous condition when I collected the car the second time on the body shop used to refurbish the wheels (Kinghorn) saying that it was out with their control. Peter Vardy deemed the damage to the wheels and suspension be superficial and would only offer to swap the wheels and suspension from another vehicle that that had on sale in their stock, to which I had no alternative but to agree to.

With all the issues that I have encountered, not once has an official apology come from the Peter Vardy Group (baring an email that was in return to my own), TLC (3rd Party Valeting Company) and Kinghorn Body shop (3rd Party Bodyshop) for the severe inconvenience caused, nor has any form of compensation for the 7 times I have had to attend a garage (3 times to collect the car, 2 times to discuss the issues with the BD manager, once having to collect the spare key and once go to BMW to get the spare key coded) been offered at any point from Peter Vardy.

Never again shall I set foot in a Peter Vardy dealership
(Jaguar Aberdeen) - Posted 4 years ago
i have had the car for 18 days and the car has been in the garage for a total of 14 days with a fault that was promised to be fixed before i uplifted the car - the car was also handed over with a damaged front wing - MOT had not been dealt with - i have now been informed that VW cant find the fault and the car could be in the garage for one more week - i didnt expect this poor service nor the lack of returned calls from peter vardy - i would like you to change this vehicle as this is totally unacceptable
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) - Posted 4 years ago
They made you welcomed, offered tea,coffee etc, staff didn't want to go and show you around cars dispite being bit rainy - not acceptable?? The salesman was perhaps only wanting to do a deal, they brag about giving you the best deal possible so how can best deal possible is same as price on windscreen of cars !! Peter vardy should get staff to be more honest to customers otherwise they do okay.
None of the car specifications was discussed by sales person, and also nothing discussed about any service plans available from peter vardy,
After handover of car I spent few moments on forecourt checking things over and noticed that the OIL life was at 98% as should be 100% so reset it back to 100%,it dropped again very quickly to 98% and at this point I only done about 20 miles over few days since got the car - this shouldn't be doing this in such short time with it being newish car !!
Also windscreen washer bottle was very very low as it should be filled up to top ! Does anyone actually check mechanics work before releasing car to sales staff ???
Fuel level was just on 3 bars ( corsa ), did they actually put fuel in as if they put in the £20 they charge you for it then it should be 17 litres = 4.3 gallons as there is about 4.54 litres to a gallon as basd on fuel price in local area at £1.15p per litre at shell sea field, Morrison's at portobello was around £1.11p on day I collected car - so if they did put in the above amount then gauge would be sitting approximately at 5 - 6 bars ( as there is 8 bars on level and each one is approximately 5 litres each as this allows about 5 litres left in tank after the 8th one goes out on gauge, as traded in smaller version of same car I bought so know how fuel levels work, so pretty poor on this part,
Any other issues will be raised with head office in due course once I get chance to write things up, overall sales person tried his hardest to sell car but didn't discussed things about the car and service plans etc, you can't discussed things about any cars without actually going out and look at them dispite a bit rain,
Everything should be discussed by sales person on day of selling you a car and can tell you that this will be discussed again on day of handover of car so that you had some time to think stuff over before you commit to any other purchases for the car and not wait until the actual day of the car handover, Peter vardy needs to get this sorted out.
Peter vardy will probably know who this is so get things sorted out asap

Peter vardy - do you not follow up with customers complaints, sales staff can't be bothered to contact you dispite leaving messages to do so, service plan details was supposed to be sent out with 7- 10 days 21 days on since purchasing this I'm still await this information, what else can be said about peter vardy seafield Edinburgh branch apart from the friendly welcoming they fail everything else as took almost an hour to do the handover of car dispite arranging pre arranged time - not acceptable, get things sorted with stuff like this, turned down better offer from another Vauxhall dealer who actually offered a 2 years free servicing and full tank of fuel (unlike the skimpy amount peter vardy put in - remember we paying for certain amount of fuel, why can't they prove they put the £20 of fuel in with receipt as dealers have fuel cards with certain petrol stations and they put the registration number on receipt ) and yes the other dealers phone back to ask if you going ahead with deal, but like I said I turned down better offer from another Vauxhall dealer because peter vardy was in close proximity of home address - that's the only reason chosen them again as I would had went elsewhere if I knew how things would worked out with P/V and least the other Vauxhall dealer shown you round the car and discussed everything it had mmm unlike peter vardy staff , like other who do a review I agree with most of what they say about peter vardy. Come on peter vardy response to this review and leave contact details for who to discuss issues with.
I don't think they will response to this review.
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) - Posted 4 years ago
After being lied to by salesman customer services got very abusive and as for you asking about our experience why bother as you aren't interested in what the customer has to say, after many phone calls. Then when approached by our solicitor you don't even reply and have had to take it further worst firm I have ever dealt with ( never again)
Posted 4 years ago
Purchased a Brand New car from Aberdeen, special promotion (Kindle) 11 months later and still waiting for it. Several phone calls to Customer Service, what a waste of time, they fob you off at every turn. Will never buy a car from Peter Vardy again. Still waiting for the Salesman to get back in touch, great Customer Service......NOT. Should be removed from the Vauxhall Partners Scheme. Certainly not worthy of being associated with it......shame on you Peter Vardy.
Posted 4 years ago
If I could score a minus I would have. Poor service from start to finish . . . And STILL issues with the car!!!!
(Jaguar Aberdeen) - Posted 4 years ago
We purchased our car and our handover was due the following weekend. The morning of collection we were called and notified that the car would be delayed due to bodywork issues. Another week later we finally collected our car. The handover bays were full with land rivers, therefore our new car was left outside in the rain still with the age related plate still on it. The salesman was perfect throughout the process but I feel as a branch there was an extreme lack of teamwork! 2 days later, we found the parking sensors were faulty. We contacted services and we got told to call Audi. They looked after us and resolved the issue with no fuss at all! As my partner is a previous employee, I would have expected a far better service!
(Jaguar Aberdeen) - Posted 4 years ago
Complaints about after sales service. Bought a car with the so called two year used car warranty from Pee-Vee. Unfortunately discovered a problem in the first few months. Contacted the warranty claims contact, they bounced me off to the car repair garage who bounced me over to Peter Vardy who then bounced me back to the garage. Peter Vardy essentially washed their hands off my problem saying that the warranty is provided by a third party not them. They also qouted me 156.0 GBP per hour for 'fault finding' which any respectable garage would do for free. Peter Vardy also told me that my repairs do not fall under warranty but they were happy to charge me for 4-5 hours of fault finding @ 156 GBP per hour any way.
Posted 4 years ago
Good Morning, I'm sorry to hear of the issues you have had with our dealerships. We will be in touch soon regarding this. TeamPv
Posted 4 years ago
We were told the car would be ready in a couple of weeks as it was down south . We were phoned about a week later and told it was abroad and it would be another month. We told them to cancel the order as we were disappointed with the service. Your manager Gavin phoned and said we had been misinformed and the car would be ready when we were originally told and offered us a free night in a hotel as a gesture of goodwill. We agreed to go ahead. We were also told we would get a refund on the service plan for our old car. We have neither received the hotel offer or our refund despite phoning several times. Gavin said he would sort it personally but when we phoned over two weeks ago he had passed it on to the original salesman and insisted the email for the hotel had been sent but that seems strange as we receive all your other emails.
To date we have still not received our refund or the elusive hotel offer. Needless to say we will not be rushing back to this dealership and hope that this email will ensure this fiasco will be sorted out.
(Vauxhall Perth) - Posted 4 years ago
Hi Kenneth, I'm sorry to hear that you have had issues with our Vauxhall Perth branch. We will be in touch today to discuss and resolve these concerns. TeamPV
Posted 4 years ago
I reported a fault and they called to say car was ready. When I enquirer about the fault, it hadn't been looked at. When I collected the car, they were unable to find fault, I.e. Didn't bother looking and I was given an excuse which made no sense. I checked my in car camera and found it had been disconnected from when the car went in to when I collected it. WHAT ARE THEY HIDING?
Posted 4 years ago
Booked my car in for a service and a loan car on Wednesday, but when I got there I was told it was booked in for Tuesday? I said that when I booked it in they said on Tuesday there wasn't a loan car available so it was booked for Wednesday as a loan car was available that day. They couldn't give me a loan car so I couldn't get the car serviced. POOR service and a waste of my time taking a day off work. Now I have to take another day off work to get it serviced at another Vauxhall dealer. Peter Vardy wanted £180 for service plus £15 for a loan car. Another Vauxhall dealer has quoted me £130 plus no charge for the loan car? I know where I will be taking our two Vauxhall,s from now on.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Steven, I'm sorry we let you down with the dates of booking and loan car issues. We will be in touch soon to discuss. Thanks
Posted 4 years ago
Peter Vardy is rated 4.58 based on 7,471 reviews