“Very poor service throughout purchasing my car. Car was dirty at handover clearly not cleaned. Still have a fault with the car after contacting them over 6 weeks ago no reply from anyone. Wouldn't recommend purchasing a car.”
“My complaint with Peter Vardy came after purchasing a secondhand Mini from their Dundee branch and resulted in weeks and weeks of phone calls, emails and Whatsapp messages achieving nothing until the day the emailed complaint was sent, at which point I finally started to see some progress.
I saw the vehicle on the website around 8 April 2020 which I was aware was during the lockdown period and would not be available however was keen to show an interest in the vehicle and contacted Vardy. Almost immediately I was contacted back to discuss terms by a salesman and within a few emails was provided a potential deal on PCP terms. I was aware at this time that the vehicle would not be available for some time due to the lockdown and was advised to reserve it. I did this paying the £99 reservation fee.
I was contacted by customer services on 23 April stating that if I wished to, I could now go ahead with the purchase and I would have the vehicle on my driveway by 30 April. During this conversation despite not having seen the car up close I was assured that the car would be valeted, serviced and in first class condition and that if I had any issues with it, Vardy's after sales was second to none and would deal with any problems. I went ahead with the deal I had been provided and on Thursday 30 April the vehicle was delivered to my door. I noted at this time that the vehicle did not appear to have been valeted and was dirty inside and out. At this time my part exchange vehicle was taken away. This was part of the deal, the vehicle was being traded in and the outstanding finance cleared with the PCP finance company. This appears to be where the problems start. I will list my issues and deal with them in order.
1. At time of writing the complaint (26/05/2020), 26 days after trading the vehicle in, the finance on my trade in vehicle had not been settled. I had a payment taken from my bank during this period for the vehicle despite no longer owning it. I contacted Peter Vardy every few days regarding this and was assured that all was in order and that it was being dealt with and any over payment would be returned. I repeatedly checked with the finance company who continued to state that no monies had been paid to them. I repeatedly called Vardy's using the main number, the Dundee numbers and had spoken numerous people regarding this, all of which pled no knowledge and assured me I will receive a phone call from finance/sales manager to discuss and reassure me. I did not receive any phone call in the nearly four weeks I was trying to resolve this. When I say I did not receive any call backs, to be specific, despite at least 8-10 calls to Vardy's each one ending with a promise to have a manager call me back. I did not receive any calls back, none, not one. This was finally settled on 26 May by which point I was contacting them on a daily basis, however Vardy's managed to settle a different figure which meant I only received a portion of my over payment from the finance company. I have since given up trying to recover the rest of the payment from Vardy.
2. During this period I received no paperwork for this purchase, no invoice, no receipt for the significant deposit, no details of the service carried out, absolutely nothing. I had been contacting the customer service adviser for a number of weeks and had been promised everything would be resolved and I would receive a phone call from the Sales manager. See above for how successful that was. If I had to provide any proof that I owned the vehicle during this period I could not do it nor prove the deposit value as I had received no paperwork, nothing. The adviser stated that if my deposit had not cleared Vardy's would not have released the Mini, however that really isn't good enough is it.
3. I paid £99 reservation fee for this vehicle, this fee was not included in the deal as the deal was agreed prior to the vehicle being reserved. Despite asking for this to be returned numerous times this problem persisted and despite numerous occasions in which I had been told it had been attended to, it took until 15 June to finally get this resolved and involved the Vardy accountant!!
These points raised above and more have been communicated a number of people within Vardy's over the last month and a half. I have been calling on average ever 3-4 days building up to almost every day due to the frustration and lack of progress. It appears that as soon as my deposit hit Vardy any assistance or after sales ceased. Since complaining I have managed to get these issues resolved slowly.
I have not received any apologies or explanations for these problems. I would not advise blaming the current circumstances as the cause as the initial sale of the car and delivery was done with lightening speed. Only grinding to a halt when my deposit and trade in was secured. I will not use this company again.
Note: I posted this review on Trust Pilot some weeks ago and Peter Vardy posted a response stating how it was not the service customers should expect to receive and the matter would be escalated to senior management to contact me and seek a resolution. That was over 4 weeks from the date of posting today. Predictable response of absolutely no contact from anyone at Peter Vardy, nothing whatsoever, beware.”
“Nothing was clearly explained over the phone when being offered a different car to which we originally went for. Ended up having to pay out more deposit than originally stated. Full specifics of the new car being offered was not explained in full detail there for I did not get what I was expecting to get.”
“After sales service is diabolical. It's April, I've only had this car since November and another fault has developed, the second since ownership - this time a problem with the clutch. When asking Peter Vardy Motherwell to get it booked in under warranty, I was advised their service department was booked out until the end of May, and was 'advised' that I phone round local garages to get it sorted. Shouldn't that be your job Peter Vardy? Here we go again, another couple of weeks without a car and fitting the bill to try to get to my place of work somehow. This company has shown time and time again now that it is totally incompetent in providing any where near decent after sales customer service. Absolutely disgusted at how you are treated if a fault develops with one of their used vehicles. Flat out refused to try to provide a courtesy vehicle as these were "booked out 2 - 3 weeks in advance and only available to customers"!!! Clearly I'm not considered a customer any longer? Think twice before taking a risk on a used car from these jokers.”
“Parcel shelf missing when i got home.mats to be delivered next day to my home didn’t arrive ,had to go back next day for parcel shelf then next day again for mats using the fuel that had been given me.I was given another £20 in fuel eventually but that was 2 days I had to leave work.I wasn’t very happy so that is why I give a low rating”
(Vauxhall Motherwell) -
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Charles, We are sorry to hear of the issues you have had with one of our sites. Please send full information including registration plate and contact number to firstname.lastname@example.org. Thanks, Team PV
“when I picked the car up on 31/08/2018 I noticed I chip on the paint work Philip said take it back wensday and I will fix it . On getting the car home I was looking over the car under neath the wheel arches was full of grass. I told Philip that I was not happy about this I ask him to have the car fully valeted on wensday it is now Friday heard nothing I phoned this morning and the receptionist said sorry I cant understand you and I could not understand her am not very pleased with the lack of communication I am seriously thinking about putting car back”
(Vauxhall Aberdeen) -
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Neil, I'm sorry to hear of this. Please send us your full details to email@example.com and the team will pick up on this. Thanks, Team PV
“Customer service was poor, I have an issue with the sale of the car to me with the monthly payments being £40pcm higher than the advertised price. I raised this at every opportunity and was promised time and time again it would be looked in to and they would get back to me. I have repeatedly called and feel I’m being fobbed off. I’m extremely disappointed by the what I feel deliberate misinformation and out right lies. The sales team member who I was dealing with went on holiday mid sale and when i chased to speak to him about this issue it took you some time to tell me he no longer works for you. I have made a formal complaint today to the store and was promised a call back before 6pm and again nothing. This has left me with a very poor impression of your company and I will not get another vehicle from you nor would I in good conscience recommend you to anyone.”
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) -
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Colin, I'm sorry to hear of the issues you have had with our Vauxhall Edinburgh branch. I believe our Management team are currently investigating your concerns and will be in contact soon regarding this. Thanks, Team PV
“I’m having a few issues with the car,I called the garage on Monday and was told these issues may not be covered under warranty and I can expect to pay up to £114 per hour for labour to investigate my queries I explained I had only had the car two days and didn’t feel I should have to pay anything but was told if these things aren’t covered under the warranty or the dealerships fault then I would be liable. I spoke to citizens advice yesterday and they advised to call you again which I did yesterday,the lady said she was emailing my concerns to a manager and the sales persons and they would be in touch but I have yet to hear from them.”
(Vauxhall Motherwell) -
Posted 1 year ago
Hi William, I'm sorry to hear of the issues you are having with one of our sites. If you could email your details to firstname.lastname@example.org and the team will be in touch. Thanks, Team PV
“It took 9 days to get my car to me. When it arrived I toom possession of it during a really heavy downpour so inspecting it was difficult. When I got the car undee cover and dried the paintwork it became apparent that the paintwork on the bonnet, front bumper and wings were heavily chipped with around 40 badly done touch up marks on the bonnet. When the salesman was contacted about this he was abusive and extremely rude and refused to discuss the issues. I returned with the vehicle and spoke with the branch manager who rectified the issues, however, the actions of the salesman soured the whole experience and I doubt I’ll consider going there again.”
(Vauxhall Kirkcaldy) -
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Douglas, Our Management team will be in touch within 48 working hours regarding this. I apologise for the issues you have experienced with our Vauxhall Kirkcaldy branch. Thanks, Team PV
“Car sold with some minor faults (Broken indicator light and marks on the headliner of the car). Trying to get someone to organise the repair of the faults has been unbelievably poor. No one takes my calls as they know I have an issue. When i Leave messages no one gets back to me. Email contact is just as bad. Promise of answers then nothing... The after sale service makes Arnold Clark look amazing.”
(Vauxhall Aberdeen) -
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Paul, Were sorry to hear of your recent experience. We would appreciate if you could send your details to email@example.com and the team will get this resolved for you. Thanks, Team PV
“The sale it's self kept being changed by the advisor, during the sale he was rude and almost forceful to the point it seemed I wasn't a customer but just a sale. At this point I almost gave up and went to arnold Clark, I wish I did. I made it very clear at the start of the sale that I would need the car by Thursday morning, when I arrived on the day (after having a courticy car for 3 days where i had to pay £37 through my own insurance to get to work) I was left with excuses from the advisor. The car came to me with polish marks everywhere, badly scratched paint, which the advisor quickly attempted to ammend with touch up paint once i pointed it it, it wasnt done properly leaving marks on the car, and some of the glue from the stickers still attatched, on top of that I have just had to book it in for a recall due to an ECM failure which was announced in April, essentially I was sold a faulty car. Without a doubt I am extremely unhappy with the service. And feel like I have just been taken advantage of by Peter Vardy.”
(Vauxhall Aberdeen) -
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Ronald, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear of the issues you have had with our Vauxhall Aberdeen site. I believe all concerns have now been resolved, should you have any further issues please don't hesitate to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Thanks, Team PV
“27/7/18 I PURCHASED A VEHICLE FROM SEAFIELD ROAD FRANCHISE EDINBURGH AND COLLECTED IT 31/7/18(.I NOW REALISE THIS WAS RUSHED THRU FOR END OF MONTH).ON JOURNEY HOME ONE OF THE SEAT BACK TABLES FELL OFF AND I HAD TO GET FUEL AS CAR WAS EMPTY EVEN THO I HAD BEEN CHARGED FOR IT.ONCE HOME I INSPECTED THE CAR AND WAS SHOCKED AT WHAT I FOUND.THE SEAT BACK STORAGE POCKETS WERE FULL OF RUBBISH,THERE WAS NO SERVICE BOOK(TOLD THERE WOULD BE ONE),A REAR LIGHT CLUSTER WAS DAMAGED,THERE WAS GRASS, STRAW AND HAIRS UNDER SEATS,AND SIGNS OF VERY LITTLE EFFORT,BASICALLY AN EMBARRASSING,UNPROFFESSIONAL DISGRACE.I RETURNED THE CAR THE FOLLOWING DAY TO COMPLAIN,I WAS TOLD THE REQUIRED PARTS WOULD BE ORDERED,GIVEN A FULL TANK OF FUEL AND A FULL VALET WHICH I DOUBT HAPPENED AS I HAD INITIALLY FOUND A CHEWY BAR IN STORAGE AREA ABOVE WINDSCREEN AND I LEFT IT THERE,AND IT WAS STILL THERE AFTER "FULL VALET".ONCE HOME I INSPECTED CAR AGAIN ONLY TO BE SHOCKED TO FIND IT APPEARED TO HAVE ONLY BEEN HOOVERED !! THERE IS STILL HAIRS AND OTHER DEBRIS.I WILL HAVE TO GET THIS PROFESSIONALLY VALETED NOW FOUND THIS TOTALLY DISGRACEFUL AND THERE IS NO POINT GOING BACK TO FRANCHISE AS ITS OBVIOUS THAT NOBODY CHECKED CAR OVER BEFORE I COLLECTED SHOWING A COMPLETE LACK OF CUSTOMER CARE. IT.HAS LEFT A BAD TASTE IN MY MOUTH AND I WILL NOT RECOMMEND PETER VARDY.”
“-During sale, the salesman was frequently talking to other people and left us waiting.
We noticed a few things were not correct with the car and we were told that these would be looked after.
-When collecting the vehicle, it was not ready on the agreed time. We had to wait for over an hour, whilst being told twice that it would only take a couple of minutes!
- The points we raised at time of the sale (condensation in rearlight unit and loose door rubbers) were not solved
- Shortly after we drove away, we noticed that the seats were not dry after being cleaned, very annoying
- Soon the engine warning light came on. I tried to look this up in the owner's manual, but there wasn't a manual in the car.
- No service history booklet in the car (hadn't been told so)
- No MOT certificate
- Car was fitted with new number plates with Peter Vardy on it. However, this was not done properly and on the second day, the rear number plate fell off. I could have got a fine for driving a car without a number plate.
- When I drove to the garage in Perth, new number plate was fitted and a new earlight unit. HOWEVER, it was the wrong rearlight!
- Have to bring the car back to the garage again for the warning light and new rearlight unit.”
“where to start? car was collected with scratches and paint chips touched up with the wrong colour. the standard of valet on car was appalling. 1 day after having car the engine management light then came on, car was taken back and O2 sensor replaced, a day later the engine management light came back on again, car then had to go to Ford as peter vardy could not fix the issue, this was all 1 day before we were due to use car to travel to Manchester for our holiday. car was then left for 12 days whilst we were on holiday and issues have now been fixed. Only had car back 2 days so still unsure if engine management issue is actually fixed only time will tell. also when we arrived back Monday we called garage 4 times throughout the day to be told every time someone would call back which they didn't. customer service was appalling actually disgusting. you should collect a new car and be happy and excited well sorry but Peter vardy took all that away. our experience of collecting a new car was Anger, disappointment and failure! would never buy another car from yourselves again. happy to take paying customers money and promise everything under the sun.”
“This has been the worst place I have bought a car from. I took my car in to sell and buy a cheaper car and get some money back. First of all, your posters and website says ‘money in your account the same day’, I never got anything in my account for 5 days. When I phoned up, the accounts department said it would take 10 days.
Secondly, I felt I was always pressured to buy the car I was looking at, I looked at a few cars and every time I looked at one I was being pressured saying it’s the best deal.
Thirdly, from the money that I sold my car for I took a £2300 to put as a deposit towards the cheaper car, now when the finance paperwork came through nothing was taken off as deposit even after I paid another £100 from my card which takes it to £2400 as deposit. I have still yet to hear from the sales guy for their explanation.
Fourth, I was never given or offered a test drive which I was want to do.
Fifth, I was never shown any finance paperwork as to what was on the finance to make sure things are all clear.
Sixth, there were things on the paperwork like charity, and car mats(which I never got, nothing was in the car just the bare floor carpet which comes with the car) I was paying for.
Seventh, the fuel was completely empty, red light on, when they gave me a car, luckily there was a petrol station near buy, probably got there on fumes.
Eight, never been given the voucher which was promised by the sales person, he later said he was going to email me it.
Ninth, every time I call up to speak to Scott the sales guy, they say he is busy.
Tenth, I have never had an after sales call back from anyone there.
There are more things to say but I will end it here and wait for a response.”
(Vauxhall Edinburgh) -
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your review Mr Kaukimoce. I would like to apologise for your recent experience with Peter Vardy. I have assigned your complaint to our Management team and they will be in contact to resolve your concerns within the next 48 hours. Thanks, TeamPV
“Peter Vardy Vauxhall Aberdeen, where do I start? What went right would be easier to answer. The sales process was fine only do the problems occur with the pathetic shambles that is their after sales service. This garage has to be one of the most unorganised cesspits in the world and their staff are not much better either: ignorant, rude and pushy towards customers and treat them with total contempt. We bought an Audi A4, a very nice car. However, the day after we bought it the engine under tray fell off and we were stuck by the side of the A96 for over an hour, until luckily Audi assist fixed it as peter vardy refused fix it and refused to send anyone out to fix it. A week later we noticed paint had begun to peel off the front bumper, it turns out the bumper had been resprayed by someone who clearly has never resprayed a car before, even I could have done a better job! The car was sent back to the garage to be repaired where it turned out the staff had never actually bothered to book the car in and we were left with a courtesy car for two days which is completely unacceptable for a small job and should have been done within a day and no apology which just shows how dreadful the staff are in this place. The only reason I've given it one star is partly because you can't give zero stars and because this garage provides a good service in making you grateful for the likes of Arnold Clark who are so much better than these con artists that work at this toilet of a company.”